Unknown Classifications in the Workflow Rules List
In certain cases you may see an “Unknown Classifications” folder containing “Unknown Classification (GUID)” within the folder in your Workflow Rules List.
There are several ways that an “Unknown Classification GUID” can appear on the Console. One way is if a file has been classified in one organization and then it was searched in another organization which doesn’t have that same classification GUID on its console. Another way this may happened is if you have files on an endpoint that were classified using a classification that has since been deleted from the console, the next time that you search those files the “Unknown Classification GUID” will appear on the console.
In both of these cases, if the file is searched and has matches, its classification GUID will be sent to the console and that GUID will be added to the list of classifications. The “<Unknown Classifications>” folder will be created at the top Workflow rules list and all unknown classifications, followed by their GUID, will be within that folder. The Workflow Rules List must be sorted by classification name or classification priority for the Unknown Classifications folder to display.
In order to prevent this from happening you would first need to identify each of the files that have been classified with the unknown classification. You can do this by going to the Results tab and adding a filter on the Classification column for the unknown classification. Then you would need to go the endpoint that contains those files and reclassify them to remove that classification or, if you wish, you can assign them a new classification. Then you can delete that Unknown Classification GUID from the Workflow Rules List.
The other option, if you have a large number of files with the unknown classification, is to rename the Unknown Classification on the console Workflow Rules List to something indicating that the classification is no longer being used.