The Spirion Client application provides the ability to save settings, configuration information, and sensitive data across sessions through the use of a profile password. It is not possible to recover a lost password; however, it is possible to reset the Profile Password from the Console or you can delete a Profile and create a new one. When the Profile password is created, that password is used to encrypt the Profile. The Profile password is not stored anywhere and therefore if it is lost or forgotten, then all of the information in the profile will be lost.
NOTE: The following end user configured data is in a Profile and would be lost when deleting a profile:
- Custom Folders, Remote Computers and authentication credentials
- OnlyFind Identities
- Ignore list entries
- Password Vault entries
- Database connection information
- Websites list
- Any other end user configured settings
Resetting a Profile Password from the Console
When on the Console's>Status screen you can delete a Profile on an endpoint by selecting the endpoint in the endpoint list on the left side of the screen and right clicking on it, then selecting to Reset Profile Password:
You will then be prompted to enter a temporary password that the end user will use to open the Profile in the Client and then they will be prompted to change the password.
This will be shown under the Tasks Tab on the right side of the Status screen when the endpoint is selected. When the password has been reset to when the end user can open the Profile on the Client and set the password, the Current Status will be changed to Executed.
The end user will then be presented with the following screen when opening the Client.
Once the new password is set then the end user will be presented with the following screen.
How to Delete a Profile from within the Client
A profile can be deleted by logging into Identity Finder as a guest by skipping the password screen, opening the Profile page within Settings/Preferences, and clicking the Delete profile button. More information is available in the on-line user guides:
Manually Deleting a Profile
To manually delete a profile, remove the profile files on disk from the specified location(s):